Wednesday, 11 October 2017

What Is UEFA Nations League?

The competition will be introduced in 2018
The UEFA Nations League is a new international tournament for European countries that will be introduced during the 2018/19 campaign.

UEFA says it is to improve the "quality and standing" of international football, while also reducing the number of friendly matches in the calendar.

All 55 UEFA nations will take part in the tournament, which is now set to take place every two years.

The 55 countries will be divided into four leagues (A-D) based on their UEFA national team coefficient, meaning nations will compete against teams around their level.

Every league is divided into four groups (1-4) made up of either three or four teams.

League A is filled with the best sides in Europe while Group D consists of the weakest.

League A:
  • Pot 1: Germany, Portugal, Belgium, Spain
  • Pot 2: France, England, Switzerland, Italy
  • Pot 3: Poland, Iceland, Croatia, Netherlands
League B:
  • Pot 1:  Austria, Wales, Russia, Slovakia
  • Pot 2: Sweden, Ukraine, Republic of Ireland, Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Pot 3: Northern Ireland, Denmark, Czech Republic, Turkey
League C:
  • Pot 1: Hungary, Romania, Scotland, Slovenia
  • Pot 2: Greece, Serbia, Albania, Norway
  • Pot 3: Montenegro, Israel, Bulgaria, Finland 
  • Pot 4: Cyprus, Estonia, Lithuania
League D:
  • Pot 1: Azerbaijan, FYR Macedonia, Belarus, Georgia
  • Pot 2: Armenia, Latvia, Faroe Islands, Luxembourg
  • Pot 3: Kazakhstan, Moldova, Liechtenstein, Malta
  • Pot 4: Andorra, Kosovo, San Marino, Gibraltar reports

No comments:

Post a Comment