Thursday, 7 December 2017

Euro 2020 Host Cities Revealed

Brussels has lost the right to stage matches at Euro 2020 following delays in the development of a new stadium, UEFA said on Thursday.

The 2020 tournament is the first to be played under a new format with group games spread across several countries.

The building of a new Brussels stadium for the tournament had run into delays involving the applications for construction and environmental permits.
"We did everything we could until the last moment to make UEFA hold off, but we respect the decision," Koen De Brabander, chief executive of the Belgian Football Association, said in a statement.
Brussels was one of 13 cities around Europe chosen to host the tournament. It was due to stage matches in the group stage and round of 16.

UEFA also said that Rome would host the opening match.

Euro 2020 host cities

Group A: Rome & Baku

Group B: Saint Petersburg & Copenhagen

Group C: Amsterdam & Bucharest

Group D: London & Glasgow

Group E: Bilbao & Dublin

Group F: Munich & Budapest

No comments:

Post a Comment