Saturday, 13 January 2018

NPFL: 2017-18 Season Kicks Off This Weekend

Action returns to the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) tomorrow and there will be a total of 10 fixtures on Match Day 1 of the 2017-2018 season.
The competition will get underway with Katsina United taking on Kano Pillars in the opening match on Saturday.

Nine games will be played on Sunday.

A total of 20 clubs will be contesting in the league this season, including 16 teams from the previous season and four clubs promoted from the 2016-2017 Nigeria National League (NNL).
Newly-promoted team, Kwara United will host Niger Tornadoes in Ilorin, while Go Round FC will face Wikki Tourists in Bauchi for their first-ever match in Nigeria’s top-flight.

Aiteo Cup champions, Akwa United will host Rangers International in Uyo.

Katsina United welcome four-time champions Kano Pillars, Plateau United who begin their title defence away to Nasarawa United And Rivers United will face El-Kanemi Warriors.

Plateau United FC are the NPFL defending champions, after they won the title following a 2-0 victory over Rangers International of Enugu on September 9, 2017.

The full schedule for the opening weekend of the 2017/2018 NPFL season is as follows:

Katsina United vs Kano Pillars

Abia Warriors vs MFM FC

Akwa United vs Rangers International

Heartland FC vs Sunshine Stars

FC IfeanyiUbah vs Yobe Stars

Kwara United vs Niger Tornadoes

Lobi Stars vs Enyimba

Nasarawa United vs Plateau United.

Rivers United vs El-Kanemi Warriors

Wikki Tourists vs Go Round FC

No comments:

Post a Comment